The health and safety of our staff, customers, and community is our top priority. Read an important message from Olivier Honda Bathurst.

Dealership hours of operation
Mon 9 AM - 6 PM
Tue - Thu 9 AM - 7 PM
Fri 9 AM - 6 PM
Sat 9 AM - 12 PM
Sun Closed
Dealership hours of operation
Mon - Fri 7:30 AM - 5 PM
Sat - Sun Closed
2300 St Peter Avenue, Bathurst, NB, E2A 7K2

The health and safety of our staff, customers, and community is our top priority. Read an important message from Olivier Honda Bathurst.

Spark Plugs

The multi-talented Spark Plug
Everyone has heard of a spark plug, but what do they do?

A MISUNDERSTANDING

Contrary to popular belief, it is the air inside your vehicle’s engine that does all the work. How can this be? Well, a small amount of gasoline is mixed with the air inside of a cylinder, and is then burned. This releases heat energy, which expands the air, pushing a piston downward. Ultimately, this force spins your wheels.

THE SPARK PLUG

So where does the spark plug fit in? Quite literally, at the top! Spark plugs are installed at the top of the cylinder, and are used to ignite the air and fuel mixture at precisely the right moment. If the timing is off, your engine might not perform as intended. This could mean increased emissions, decreased power or even physical damage over time.

A HARSH ENVIRONMENT

The tip of a spark plug has a rough life. For instance, the end of a spark plug must stay between 500˚C - 850˚C to remain clean. When a spark plug fires, it actually ionizes the gases between the points of its electrode, just like lightning striking the ground. It does this 15 - 25 times a second when cruising on the highway. It can take 25,000 Volts to make this happen - 200 times your household voltage!

Every time your spark plug fires, a small amount of material wears away. As this happens, the gap between the electrodes slowly widens. Your vehicle is designed to compensate for some wear, but ultimately, this gap continues to grow. Ensuring that this tolerance is maintained is the only way to guarantee consistent performance. Fortunately, your Maintenance Minder system will let you know when you need to replace your spark plugs. So before you are let down with poor performance, put the spark back in your vehicle’s engine!

La santé et la sécurité de notre personnel, de nos clients et de la communauté est notre priorité absolue. Lire un message important de Olivier Honda Bathurst.

Dealership hours of operation
Lun - Mer 8H30 - 18H
Jeu 8H30 - 19H
Ven 8H30 - 18H
Sam 8H30 - 13H
Dim Fermé
Dealership hours of operation
Lun - Ven 7 H 30 - 17 H
Sam - Dim Fermé
2300 St Peter Avenue, Bathurst, NB, E2A 7K2

La santé et la sécurité de notre personnel, de nos clients et de la communauté est notre priorité absolue. Lire un message important de Olivier Honda Bathurst.

Bougies d'allumage

La Bougie aux Talents Multiples
Tous savent ce qu’est une bougie, mais quel est leur rôle?

UN MALENTENDU

Contrairement à la croyance populaire, c’est l’air à l’intérieur de votre moteur quit fait tout le travail. Comment cela est-ce possible? Et bien, une petite quantité d’essence est mélangée avec l’air à l’intérieur d’un cylindre et puis ensuite brulée. Ce processus dégage une énergie en chaleur qui accroît l’air, propulsant le piston vers le bas. Finalement, cette force fait tourner vos roues.

UNE BOUGIE

Alors comment une bougie est intégrée dans le processus? Littéralement au premier rang! Les bougies sont installées sur le dessus du cylindre et sont utilisées pour allumer le mélange d’air et d’essence à un moment précis. Si le réglage est incorrect, votre moteur ne pourrait pas fonctionner comme voulu. Ceci pourrait représenter une augmentation d’émissions, une diminution de la puissance et même de dommages physiques avec le temps.

UN ENVIRONNEMENT SÉVÈRE

L’extrémité d’une bougie a une vie difficile. Par exemple, l’extrémité d’une bougie doit demeurer entre 500˚C - 850˚C por rester propre. Quand une bougie allume, ceci ionize les gaz entre les points de son électrode, juste comme un éclair qui heurte le sol. Ce procédé se réalise 15-25 fois par seconde en roulant sur l’autoroute. Cela peut exiger 25000 volts pour réaliser le tout, soit 200 fois le voltage de votre maison.

À chaque fois que vos bougies allument, une petite quantité de matériel se détériore. À cause de cela, la distance entre les électrodes s’élargie lentement. Votre véhicule est conçu pour compenser pour une certaine usure mais au boût d’un certain temps, cet espace continue toujours d’augmenter. L’assurance que cette tolérance est maintenue est la seule façon de garantir une performance consistante. Heureusement, votre aide mémoire de l’entretien vous informera quand il sera temps de remplacer vos bougies, avant d’être aux prises avec une pauvre performance de votre moteur!